The Sunday Night Singers present the Music of Jonathan Eiø, Canal Cafe Theatre

27 Jun

I attended The SUNDAY NIGHT SINGERS present the Music of Jonathan Eiø at the Canal Cafe Theatre yesterday. Jonathan was joined by Natalie Green, James Bisp, Laura Cottrell, Simon Ouldred, Amanda Roberts and Alex Ruocco, as well as Katie Brayben and Adam Rhys-Davies, who are both currently in John & Jen at the Landor Theatre.

As well as singing Jonathan Eiø’s own songs, they also performed songs from composers such as Jason Robert Brown and others. It was a perfect mix of comic songs and ballads and the cast was great. I especially liked the voices of James Bisp and Laura Cottrell.

I liked all the songs, but the highlights for me were:

Simon Ouldred’s first song. I unfortunately didn’t catch its title, but it was hilarious, as were his facial expressions.

I loved the song from John & Jen that Katie Brayben and Adam Rhys-Davies sang and it made me wish I could go and see it, which I unfortunately can’t. But the story sounds very intriguing and they both have great voices.

Around, sung by Alex Ruocco. It’s such a catchy song, I found it impossible to get it out my head for days after I first listened to it.

Sandbox is another incredibly beautiful song written by Jonathan Eiø. I love the lyrics.

Somehow, sung by James Bisp and Hey Louise, sung by Jonathan Eiø himself with the rest of the cast joining in, are my favourite songs on his album. James’s got one of the best voices I’ve ever heard.

I really enjoyed the afternoon, in spite of the incredible heat. How the singers coped I will never know, especially Simon Ouldred who came on in a jumper for aforementioned song.

Jonathan Eiø’s two albums are available from Dress Circle or iTunes. They are both great, but I think I slightly prefer the second one. It’s very easy to listen to and perfect to just relax.He writes stunning ballads, but also great uptempo songs.

He will also be a guest at Jack Shalloo’s cabaret at the Battersea Barge in August, for which you can book tickets here.

Leave a Reply

